#ARCBookreview The good Sister by Jess Ryder

Posted September 24, 2017 by Ami-May in Uncategorized / 9 Comments



Title: The Good Sister

Author: Jess Ryder 

Publisher: Bookouture

Publishing Date: 16th August 2017

Description: 

Two sisters. One secret… A lie that could destroy them both.


When her father dies, Josie is devastated to uncover he led a secret life: another house, another family and a half-sister called Valentina.


Both with red hair and icy blue eyes, Josie and Valentina could be mistaken for twins. But the similarities end there…


Josie – Sweet, reserved, jealous, thief. 

Valentina – Care-free, confident, dangerous, liar. 

Two sisters. One survivor. 


A nail-bitingly tense and unputdownable read that will keep you turning pages into the night. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Sister Sister.

My Review: 

Where to start, first of all , have you seen that fucking cover.. how beautiful and striking. It’s colorful and eye-catching.

I have never heard of Jess Ryder nor obviously read any of her books, but I am glad, I got accepted for the request. I definitely do not regret it.

From the start, this book is capturing and you can’t catch your breath till the very last page is quickly turned. All though, the book your mind is wondering what and why.

If you think you know the ending think again, I didn’t have the slightest clue what was going to happen and the big secrets that came tumbling out.

It’s all started when Josie’s fathers died. It unlocked so many secrets, lies, deception, and twists. If Josie wasn’t grieving and devastated by her precious father’s death, she was certainly going to delve deep into even more devastation.

The big secret was a sister, named Valentina. They looked super similar but couldn’t be any more different, their personalities, the way they dressed, their whole life. Josie had it all, a nice home, a good job and a partner of 5 years. Valentina however, she was basically squatting not far from Josie, after moving closer to her sister.  Her moods were explosive, she didn’t get on with her mother.

But they both have one thing in common, a father who is a massive liar actually a whole family full of liars.

Onto the characters. 

Josie: easily likable, she had her whole life sorted, a long-term boyfriend, a good job etc. She is amiable, dull, responsible and intelligent.

Valentina – What a character she is, she is wild, wacky, explosive, daring and perilous.

At one point, I thought that maybe it was the same person and that she/they had multiple personalities.

I absolutely loved the facts about the Vikings throughout the book.

I recommend this book totally, it’s a twisted, exciting, confusing thriller that will have you gripped. If you want a short read with plenty of twists and turns, you need to pick this book up.

Amazon 🇬🇧 | Amazon 🇺🇸             Goodreads | Website                    

                  

About the author: 


Jess Ryder is the pseudonym of Jan Page, author, screenwriter, playwright and award-winning television producer. After many years working in children’s media, she has recently embarked on a life of crime. Writing, that is. Her other big love is making pots. She has two thriller books out The Good Sister and Lie to me. 



A Crazy Cat loving Booknerd.

Posted September 24, 2017 by Ami-May in Uncategorized / 9 Comments

Divider

Leave a Thought

9 responses to “#ARCBookreview The good Sister by Jess Ryder

  1. Family thrillers always get me because sometimes my crazy mind wonders what really goes on in my neighbor’s homes. I mean to the outside, this family seemed totally normal, it sounds like. I guess we all hide secrets. Good review.

  2. Jen

    I haven’t heard about this book before, but it sounds really interesting… thank you for sharing!